RSS

Lost Pilgrims and Fake Turkeys?

25 Nov

Here I am happily sipping my Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin Spice coffee made through our french press and listening to some holiday music on the satellite radio.  Just put down a tasty egg sandwich for bfast and am getting excited for my first holiday EVER with Ryan.  Yes, we have been together for awhile, but he usually works the holidays, but not today!  So, we are whipping on a t-giving meal just for us – Cornish game hens, baby red garlic mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, homemade stuffing and some incredibly delicious wine.  Although Pinot Noir is not typically my favorite, this one is really, really good.  It’s the Commuter Cuvee by Grouchau Cellars based in the Willamette Valley, Oregon.  Plus,  a portion of the proceeds go to the Brett Jarolimek Memorial Fund which works on bicycle safety.

We’ve also invited Captain Morgan to join us in the form of warm apple cider and rum!  Tasty, especially since its so cold and nasty outside.

Thanksgiving is kind of a weird holiday, but I like that you just get together with friends and family, eat some good food and drink some good wine/cocktails.  Then you have the haters like the ridiculous PETA girls I saw yesterday protesting in front of the White House.  Yes, they are “naughty” pilgrims.

I have nothing against people who want to be vegetarians (in fact, my good friend at Barkless Vegetables is a vegetarian), but I think PETA is a little extreme.  Leave me alone with my baby chicken.  You can’t make me eat your weird fake meat – in this case, they are peddling tofurkey.  Also, if you are going to go the way of getting your message across or garnering attention by using sexy ladies, then perhaps actually find some sexy ladies.  They look about as good as the tofurkey.

Speaking of pilgrims, while doing a little shopping at Eastern Market we came across a man who was aimlessly wandering around, perhaps looking for where he parked the Mayflower.

"It's a tall ship with big sails. Have you seen it?"

Wherever you happen to be today and regardless of how much real or fake meat you’re eating, Happy Thanksgiving!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2010 in Food and Drink

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Lost Pilgrims and Fake Turkeys?

  1. Sheridan

    November 25, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I absolutely LOVE Oregon Pinot Noirs. Not as heavy as other Pinots, but definitely delicious.

    While I am a happy vegetarian, I also think PETA is too extreme. Let people enjoy their meat. I will happily enjoy the sides 🙂

     
  2. Sarah

    November 25, 2010 at 11:55 am

    OMG, you are cracking me up. AH, the naughty Pilgrims outside the Chamber…what a treat that was. And, I need to meet The Wandering Eastern Market Pilgrim, he could be the man I’ve been waiting for!

     
  3. Sarah

    November 25, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Seriously, I can’t get over the picture of the man at Eastern Market.

     
  4. heatherfreitag

    November 25, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Hahaha Sarah – I’m glad you enjoy him. He was cracking us up. Literally he just kept wandering around. So strange.

    Sher – you are the best type of vegetarian. A true love of veggies, a way of making those veggies taste yummy, and you don’t push other people or scold them for loving their meats. This Pinot is the first from Oregon I have tried. If they are all like this, I’m sold.

     

Leave a Reply

 
